Dutch Weekend: Rotterdam

Itinerary: 3D2N (Den Haag, Delft, Rotterdam)

  • Day 3: Delft – Rotterdam (train) / Rotterdam – Kinderdjik (waterbus + cycle)

Rotterdam is the second-largest city in the Netherlands and has the biggest port in Europe.
Rotterdam is the second-largest city in the Netherlands and has the biggest port in Europe.

I am too busy to blog, unbelievable, I know. Good thing is I’ve been too caught up travelling and it is only when I blog that I have a chance to sift through hundreds of photographs in my camera. Since my post on Delft, I subsequently went to Gouda, Maastricht, and Antwerp. I am also in the midst of planning a trip to France so looks like that’s going to be joining my queue of travel backlogs!

Just a reminder that this is also a food blog, here’s a delicious veggie bagel from a nondescript cafe in Rotterdam. I have a love-hate relationship with bagels – they are notoriously carby! Give me some cream cheese on a toasted cinnamon-raisin bagel though and my love for them is rekindled.

IMG_8509

In the final leg of this Dutch Weekend, we made our way to Rotterdam, the largest port in Europe. We added Rotterdam to our itinerary fairly late (actually, the night before) after I gathered more information about Kinderdijk,, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The website proudly proclaims that one can see ‘19 windmills from the 18th century’ – this was enough to convince me, considering that seeing a REAL windmill (not to mention 19!) ranks high on my list of things to do in the Netherlands. I’m getting my priorities right. I wanted to see a windmill so badly that I would willingly take a train, cycle, take a waterbus, and cycle again just to get up close and into one.

IMG_8520

So from Delft, we took a train to Rotterdam, cycled to the waterbus ferry terminal and took a waterbus with our bikes. And cycled again once we got to the small town where Kinderdijk was located.

Now this is the part where you’re thinking “I bet the windmills were disappointing and not worth the commute” 

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

IMG_8589

They were ginormous!!!! Now that’s what I call a windmill.I can officially say I’ve been to Holland.

IMG_8548

These 18th century windmills are no longer working but have been preserved as part of the historical and cultural landscape. They look extremely beautiful, dotting the blue skies and straddling the pastures alongside grazing cows and lambs. One of the windmills serve as a walk-in museum and you can gain entrance using a coupon attached to the waterbus ticket. 

IMG_8551 IMG_8565

Kinderdjik for me was the highlight of the entire weekend and I am so glad we made the last minute decision to visit. There were many people taking a leisurely stroll along the footpaths but having our bicycles gave us more mileage as we were able to explore the entire area and beyond. Being on the local farmlands and among meadows, we will always find ourselves right next to a horse or two as they roamed the grasslands freely. We spent our entire afternoon here just cycling and having a small picnic before heading back into the city for the train home.

Dutch weekend, till next time!

IMG_8616
ice-cream stop before going home! there’s always time for a chocolate, coffee and pistache gelato.
Leave a Reply

