When I met you (New York City) in the Summer!

It is so nice to be back after 6 weeks away from the Netherlands! I spent the past 1.5 months in New York City and no, I am still not that city girl strutting down 5th avenue. I missed having open pastures, flowers at every corner and basically not having to dodge people rushing past me everywhere I go. That said, I did enjoy my brief affair with the city and found respite every now and then in Central Park or Hudson River Park. I also had a chance to catch up with a very dear friend for the entire month.

Of course, the main reason for my trip was to get my Yoga teacher certification. After weeks of intensive training, asana practice, anatomy, posture labs, practice teaching, daily homework, yoga readings and 3 exams – phew! –  I’m finally a 200-hr certified Yoga Teacher! It’s been a long time since I studied this hard but the huge sense of accomplishment makes it all worthwhile.

IMG_0215
this was a beautiful afternoon in Central Park

Since I was in in yoga school daily, I hardly had much time to be a tourist in NYC. What I enjoyed most about the city was the culture and people, how vibrant it was and generally how ready New Yorkers were when it came to partying and having a good time.

My summer weekends were filled with picnics, parades, food fleas, tanning at the beach, island touring, amusement park rides and raves!

Enjoy the photographs!

IMG_0091
Most lip smacking delicious cinnamon rolls I’ve had in my life. At the Standard Hotel.
IMG_0122
So I HAD to try something from shake shack at least once. Portobello mushroom burger. I was slightly underwhelmed.
IMG_0157
Electric Daisy Carnival. Huge rave fest with many renowned DJs and where I discovered that butt-cheeks revealing shorts were the fashion must-haves of the day. (not for me though!)
IMG_0173
free rides at a rave? only in America.
IMG_0240
You’ve never tasted lobster until you try the Lobster roll from Luke’s Lobster.
IMG_0310
Gigantic billboards at Times Square. This place drives me crazy.
IMG_0411
Sunset view of Manhattan from Jersey.
IMG_0516
View from The Highline, an elevated garden built on the city’s old railway tracks. It was a nice walk interspersed by beautiful pieces of street art by New York’s trendsetting artists.
IMG_0642
Coney Island Day!
IMG_0664
Part of the Mermaid Parade procession included 2 busloads people dancing on the roofs. I love the colours of the buses!
IMG_0734
NYC architecture. I was always very fascinated by the fire escape ladders.
IMG_0159
Goodbye New York City, thank you for summer!

Next week, A and I are going on our much anticipated climbing road trip through Europe. Just us, our van, lots of gear, a well-stocked mobile pantry and 2 months of  driving, camping and exploring various crags. Switzerland’s Magicwood will be our first stop and after that…we’ll see where the van takes us! I love such adventures where there’s no planning involved. My summer in NYC may have ended but here, it has only just begun!

Leave a Reply

